If you work, you do so for a paycheck, and if you believe that your employer has somehow violated federal or state wage & hour laws or otherwise denied you your rightful pay, you should speak with a Chesterfield County wage & hour law attorney. Contact Passero Employment Law to learn more about how our firm can assist you.
Do I Need a Chesterfield County Wage & Hour Law Attorney?
When faced with a wage dispute, it is critical to understand the nuances of the law and what payments you may or may not be entitled to. A knowledgeable Midlothian employment attorney can help guide you.
What to Know About the Fair Labor & Standards Act
The Fair Labor Standards Act is a federal law that determines the minimum wage, as well as other wage standards, for workers here in the United States. The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25 an hour. However, the minimum wage in Virginia is $12.00.
Overtime Laws Under the Fair Labor & Standards Act
Under the FLSA, non-exempt employees who work more than 40 hours per week are entitled to overtime pay, which is 1.5 times the amount of their regular pay. However, employers may consider certain employees to be “exempt” from overtime pay under the law. The FLSA provides exemptions for specific categories of employees: professional, administrative, and executive, among others. That said, if an employer misclassifies an employee as exempt, that employee may be entitled to backpay for lost overtime, as well as other damages.
Filing a Wage Claim in Virginia
If you believe that your employer violated the wage & hour laws and you are looking to hold your employer accountable, you may do so in multiple ways, including through Department of Labor and Industry, or directly in court.
Contact a Chesterfield County Wage & Hour Law Attorney
The bottom line is that if you have a wage & hour dispute on your hands, you should consider having knowledgeable attorney on your side. Contact Passero Employment Law today to learn more about what we can do for you.